Find another book using keywords, Title or an ISBN

Mina and the Undead

,

A dark and thrilling tale of the paranormal. With haunted houses, family secrets and murder galore, this delicious and gruesome tale of the macabre will ignite a whole new generation of vampire fans.’ Lauren James’Brimful of nostalgia and cinematic atmosphere. A thrilling read and a clever new twist on the vampire stories you love.’ Laura WoodNew Orleans Fang Fest, 1995.

Mina’s having a summer to die for. 17-year-old Mina, from England, arrives in New Orleans to visit her estranged sister, Libby. After growing up in the town that inspired Dracula, Mina loves nothing more than a creepy horror movie.

She can’t wait to explore the city’s darkest secrets – vampire tours, seedy bars, spooky cemeteries, disturbing local myths… And it gets even better when Mina lands a part-time job at a horror movie mansion and meets Jared, Libby’s gorgeous housemate, co-worker and fellow horror enthusiast. But the perfect summer bliss is broken when, while exploring the mansion, Mina stumbles upon the body of a girl with puncture marks on her neck, clutching a lock of hair that suspiciously resembles Libby’s…

Someone is replicating New Orleans’ most brutal supernatural killings. Mina must discover the truth and prove her sister’s innocence before she becomes the victim of another myth. Perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Stranger Things.

£7.99

In Stock

Author(s)

Binding

Reviews

  1. Daniel Lawrence

    It was a quick read and fun read (300 pages of fast paced pleasure).
    New Orleans, with two sisters who come from Whitby, it made me keep reading.
    Your typical YA story – told in a completely new way.
    I was obsessed and is everything I LOVE all rolled into one, so of course I really enjoyed this book!
    Perfect for fans of Buffy and The Vampire Diaries.

  2. Abbey

    Mina and the Undead was one of my most anticipated books of the year. I couldn’t put it down from the moment I started. Loveable, easy to root for characters. Awesome plot & twists coming at you left right and center. Some parts were quite intensely brilliant and I did get emotional a couple of times.

    5*

  3. kev

    I’ve read this multiple times now and honestly enjoyed it every time and even having learnt the twists after the first read, the plot is strong and you realise the easter egg clues you previously missed.

    If you know someone who could watch movies on a loop indefinitely but isn’t into reading and you would like them to get into reading but have never found the right book yet, Mina and the Undead is one to consider. Here’s my reasoning…

    *It reads very cinematically and isn’t over descriptive.
    *It revolves around a Horror Movie Tour Mansion.
    *It has many pop culture references to the 1980s/1990s – movies, actors, music, lifestyles etc.
    *Its chapter lengths are relatively short to allow for reading breaks (but the chapter cliffhangers make it hard to put down).

    Hope this review helps!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Find another book using keywords, Title or an ISBN)