10 Fantasy and Sci-Fi Books and Series to Read before You Turn 16 May 26, 2017 – Posted in: Top 10s

A list of fantasy and sci-fi books that you absolutely have to read before you turn 16!

P.S.: Some of these books and series are aimed at younger kids, while others are most suitable for young people aged 12 and up. That being said, adults have been known to enjoy all of them as well 🙂

How to Train Your Dragon series, by Cressida Cowell – a series of books that develops from a fun adventure to a thrilling battle across a dragon-infested archipelago.

The Spiderwick Chronicles series, by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi – this series is set in an old house full of mysterious creatures, accompanied by beautiful and haunting illustrations.

Coraline, by Neil Gaiman – a creepy but cool story, good if you like mysterious alternate worlds, bad if you don’t like buttons.

The Edge Chronicles series, by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell – a well-built, entirely original series of stories set in another world, accompanied by amazing illustrations. For fans of Lord of the Rings and Discworld.

The Blackthorn Key series, by Kevin Sands – this series, set in Stuart London, is full of codes, alchemy and mystery, and is a fascinating period drama. Not really fantasy, but too good to leave off the list!

The Tiffany Aching sequence, by Terry Pratchett – an unusual and creative adventure series, set in Pratchett’s Discworld, with all his trademark magic and humour.

Remade series, by Alex Scarrow – creepy, shocking and tense, this sci-fi thriller for fans of any gory apocalypse book.

The Lie Tree, by Frances Hardinge – a wonderfully evocative and atmospheric award-winning novel, full of mystery, intrigue and very capable women. An inspiring read for both girls and boys aged 11+, which will be immensely enjoyed by their parents as well.

Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series, by Ransom Riggs – a one-of-a-kind reading experience, these spine-tingling novels blend thrilling fantasy with vintage photography.

Gone series, by Michael Grant – a breathtaking, harrowing, and utterly terrifying series, for readers aged 13+.

« School Days! Top 10 Books for Children Set in Schools